A Psalm on Weariness

atlas

My body is weak, O’ Lord
My atrophied muscles tremble with every step
Incessant and unending tasks leech life from my soul
I feel my spirit wane through the cracks of my flesh

There are days where it feels easiest to quit
To lay down and give up
To close my eyes and slumber onward
Oblivious to all wills except my own

The enemy is clawing daily
His evil clutches scarring my already battle-worn mind
Sinking deeper, sapping energy from the marrow in my bones
Feeding off of my fatigue as a fly on molasses

It is only my reliance on You that keeps me going, O’ Lord
Only Your grace that restores a troubled heart
Your love that quenches all thirst
A rallying cry among worn out warriors

You alone, my God, are sovereign above all else
My body is weak, O’ Lord, and yet my spirit is strong
You prop me up on stilts to avoid tumultuous waves
You fill the dried up river beds of my soul

Leave a comment