Blitzkrieg

My anguish lies internally
But the scars seep through my skin
I wonder when the torture ends
Will I ever breathe again?

For sights and sounds, your face and voice,
Are magnified through this lens
That heart and soul and blood escape
With each word this author pens

Undefined and confused, a terrible ruse
Why play tricks without intent to jest?
These unpredictable inconsistencies do wear thin
The instrument that beats beneath my breast

Say the word and make it so,
Or end the suffering and decline
I cannot bear this hollow pain,
Possessing you, yet you are not mine

The fault is not yours, it is mine alone
A glutton for punishment am I
The risks and conditions were clearly expressed,
I hoped my advances would not be denied

Time, you are the enemy, my heart’s rival
But my strength and resolve are no worse
It is my burden to bear, and I, grateful to carry
You are my greatest gift, and also my curse.

One Response to “Blitzkrieg”

  1. Wow, Mike. Intense! Hope you are OK!

Leave a Reply

